Space Data Centers Database
Search and compare space data center projects and related orbital computing demonstrations, including developers, technical specifications, suppliers, agreements and milestones. Follow each commitment to its original announcement.
Catalog: 95 projects. 13 proposal / study · 33 development · 13 launched · 20 demonstrated · 4 operating · 9 historical · 3 uncertain. These are project classifications, not spacecraft counts or verified commercial capacity.
37 projects classified as launched, demonstrated or operating: 29 reviewed, 8 with review limits or awaiting review. Each project appears in one classification.
Linked view: SOPHOS onboard processing and memory program.
Columns & coverage · 1 empty columns hidden
1 of 1 projects have values for the selected fields. 1–1 of 1 configuration rows shown. Projects without values are hidden.
— No verified value recorded · N/A Not applicable · TBD Not yet defined · Conflict Unresolved. Configurations remain separate. Hardware ratings and plans do not establish measured performance. Open Details & sources for evidence and coverage notes.
| Project / configuration | Compute hardware | Memory / storage |
|---|---|---|
| SOPHOS onboard processing and memory programSOPHOS ground research demonstratorDSI Aerospace-led consortiumProject status: Ground demonstrator completed | Unibap Payload Processing ModuleSOPHOS ground research demonstratorReported specificationofficial ground research result | DSI radiation-tolerant Mass Memory ModuleSOPHOS ground research demonstratorReported specificationofficial ground research result |
Compute hardware: Unibap Payload Processing Module SOPHOS ground research demonstrator. High-performance processing module developed under SOPHOS. Processor model, accelerator count and arithmetic throughput are not stated. official ground research result. Included with these qualifications. Source observation: 2026-10-31. Supporting source ↗Memory / storage: DSI radiation-tolerant Mass Memory Module SOPHOS ground research demonstrator. Newly developed storage module. RAM, storage capacity, interface speeds and endurance are not specified. official ground research result. Included with these qualifications. Source observation: 2026-10-31. Supporting source ↗ | ||
Technical specifications retain the source’s original units and evidence status. Hardware counts, compute rates and power are not equivalent; launched hardware does not establish demonstrated performance. Supplier counts include suppliers and hosts only, reflect current filters and cover this directory, not the entire market. “No record” means no disclosure captured; it does not mean the work is unawarded. Latest developments use source dates, not routine review or collection dates.